Mexican Chicken Stew

This is a great dinner recipe to add to your rotation.  I stumbled upon a recipe for Salsa Chicken as I was browsing Pinterest.  I saved it for a later date.  I needed something quick to make for dinner tonight and I thought it would be a perfect time for the salsa chicken.  However, I realized that I didn’t have all of the ingredients.  It happens.  I searched through my pantry and found some items that I thought I would be able to swap and still achieve the same flavor.  Don’t be afraid to try out different ingredients that are in the same family.  If you don’t have black beans, try kidney beans.  If you don’t have salsa, use tomatoes and some spices.  I experimented tonight and came up with a brand new recipe that everyone enjoyed.  We ate this as a soup/stew, but you could also serve it over rice.  Homemade cornbread is a great side dish if you eat this as a stew.  They compliment each other perfectly!

Kitchen Tools:  

Crock Pot:  This item is a kitchen must in my opinion.  My crock pot has been a life saver at times!  There are many different brands and sizes.  I actually have two different sizes of crock pots.  I have one large one for soups and big meals.  I have a small crock pot that warms taco meat, makes applesauce, or heats up baking potatoes.  I often find myself using them both for a meal.  This is my current crock pot.  It’s nothing special, but it is large (I make big portions for my family) and it cooks quickly and evenly.  http://www.walmart.com/ip/Hamilton-Beach-8-Quart-Extra-Large-Capacity-Slow-Cooker-Black/35241817

Cast Iron Skillet:  This kitchen item is for the side of corn bread.  This is not a must-have to make the corn bread.  Any 8×8 glass dish (or something similar in size) will work.  I just absolutely love to make corn bread in cast iron.  I love the texture that the crust develops in a hot skillet.  I actually purchased some cast iron items at an auction.  I will post a couple that I found while searching around:

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Lodge-Logic-12-Cast-Iron-Skillet/5969633

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Pioneer-Woman-Timeless-Cast-Iron-12-Iron-Enamel-Cast-Skillet-Red/46039884

Let’s Cook!  

IMG_9794

I realized that I forgot to put the chicken in this picture.  Whoops!  lol  This is such an easy recipe to prepare.  The small cans are Herdez Salsa Verde.  This might be a new ingredient to some of you.  You can find salsa verde in the Hispanic aisle at the grocery store.  Salsa verde is a salsa made with tomatillos.  It’s so great.

IMG_9795

The first step is to place your chicken in the crock pot.  To make this recipe even easier, use frozen chicken breasts.  I used frozen and they cooked in 4-5 hours on high.  No problem.

IMG_9798

Next up, put in all of the rest of the ingredients.  It’s that easy.  Please note that there are some things that I drained before I put them in.  It’s listed on the recipe card.  *I would like to add that there is a little bit of heat to this dish.  If your family doesn’t do spicy or you would like less heat, just decrease the spices or leave them out all together.* Now, all you have to do is set your crock pot to high and allow the meat to cook for 4-5 hours.

IMG_9823

When your meat is fully cooked, take the chicken breasts out and shred them. If your meat is done, it should easily shred with two forks.   Place the shredded chicken back in the crock pot.

IMG_9824

This is what your finished product should look like.  Yummy!  My husband and I ate this as a stew.  We dipped cornbread in it. Two of my kiddos put some of this on a tortilla and ate it as a taco.  The flavor is great.

IMG_9827

I shredded some Monterrey Jack cheese and served it on top of the stew.

This is the recipe that I used for the homemade cornbread.  It’s a sweet compliment to the spicy stew.  We loved it!

http://chocolatechocolateandmore.com/sweet-cornbread/

IMG_9826IMG_9828

Here is a recipe card for your convenience.  I hope this helps!  Please let me know if you try this stew!  I would love to hear about extra toppings that you used or any other ways that you tried it.  Happy cooking!  Enjoy! 🙂

Slide1

Leave a Reply

