Peanut Butter Oatmeal

IMG_9830

Peanut Butter Oatmeal doesn’t sound like a very exciting post!  it might even seem like a strange combination.  However, this is one of my very favorite breakfasts.  It is so filling and if you use certain ingredients, it makes a great low-calorie breakfast (under 300 calories).  With only 5 ingredients, it’s definitely simple.  These pictures aren’t going to be that pretty (it’s brown oatmeal), but I hope you try it at least once and let me know what you think!

Breakfast truly is the most important meal of the day in my book.  Here is a great article that details why breakfast is so important:  http://www.healthyeating.org/Healthy-Eating/Healthy-Living/Weight-Management/Article-Viewer/Article/569/5-Reasons-to-Eat-a-Protein-Packed-Breakfast.aspx   The type of breakfast that I have certainly sets the tone for my day.  A bowl of sugary cereal makes me feel hungry soon after I eat it.  It definitely doesn’t fill me up for very long.  I’m learning more about fueling my body.  I want to eat ingredients that are good for me and keep hunger away.  Oatmeal is a great addition to your breakfast if you aren’t already eating it.  Oatmeal is a source of whole grain ( the ingredient on your oatmeal should only say whole grain oats), it can help lower cholesterol, and it is a good source of fiber which helps keep you full.

There are no special kitchen gadgets that are needed for this breakfast.  However, I do want to introduce an ingredient that you may not be familiar with.  I use PB2 for this oatmeal instead of regular peanut butter.  PB2 is powdered peanut butter.  You add water to make the actual peanut butter.   I use PB2 in order to keep the calorie count down.  There are 45 calories per serving of PB2 compared to 190 calories in Jif peanut butter.  You can totally use regular peanut butter or any other type of nut butter that you enjoy.  If you can’t find this in your local grocery store, you can find it at Walmart or Target.

IMG_9834

Time to cook!  Gather up your ingredients, a small saucepan with a lid, and some measuring cups and spoons!

IMG_9829

The first step is to add your almond milk to you pan.  For this recipe, I use almond milk instead of regular milk.  I prefer the taste, in this recipe, and I find that almond milk doesn’t scorch when it heats.  Scorch milk is milk that has been heated to high and it burns and sticks to the pan.  Yuck.  Set your burner to medium/medium high and wait for it to come to a boil.  *WARNING*  When the almond milk reaches a boiling point, it bubbles up quickly.  Watch your pan closely or it will boil over and you will have a giant mess.  At least that’s what I have heard. 😉 😉

IMG_9831

Once your milk comes to a boil, add your oats and stir constantly.  I like to have my oats measured and ready next to my pan.    Cook the oats for about 5 minutes or until the liquid has reduced and the mixture is thickened.

IMG_9832IMG_9839

Now put a lid on that pot and remove the oatmeal from the heat.  Let it sit for 3-4 minutes so the rest of the liquid can absorb.  When you take the lid off, you want to see lots of cooked oats, not liquid.

IMG_9834IMG_9835

While your oats are cooking, mix up your PB2.  I find that 2 TBSP of PB2 mixed with 2 TBSP of water is a great ratio.  If you want it thinner, add more water.

IMG_9840

Once the oats are ready, add your PB2, honey, and cinnamon.  I’ve included an amount for the honey and cinnamon, but they are truly to taste.  Increase or decrease according to what you like.

IMG_9842

Mix everything together and enjoy!  This is so perfect on a chilly day.  It really hits the spot.  I probably have this for breakfast 3 times a week.  Please let me know if you try it!  I always love to hear that people are trying the things they see on the blog!

Peanut Butter Oatmeal (This is the link to my typed recipe).  We just got a new computer and I think this will work well.  Please let me know if you can’t open it!

One thought on “Peanut Butter Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

